Domain name extensions

ICANN introduced domain name extensions in 1998 when the organization created the first six top-level domain extensions, including .org, .gov, .mil, .edu, .net, and .com. Today, we are all familiar with these extensions, and we see and use them regularly. 

These extensions were designed to categorize domain names into different groups and to make it easier to find them. For example, government websites, institutions, and colleges primarily use the “.org” extension. 

At the same time, these extensions also reduce complexity and offer more domain name options. So, for example, you can have two identical domain names with different extensions. As the internet developed, so did domain extensions, and there are five different categories today (more on these below).

Why are they important?

Domain names are essential for many reasons, but there are three core things that they serve to accomplish.

One of the most crucial characteristics of good domain names is making an excellent first impression and helping people to remember your business. Potential customers can instantly learn unique and easy-to-remember names. 

Domain names can also help to define a brand and allow website visitors to quickly understand your business. 

Dear Lottery Result
Kerala Lottery Result
Khanapara Teer Result
Nagaland State Lottery
Shillong Teer Result
Motivational Quotes in Hindi

You can use domain names for search engine optimization because websites can add their primary keywords to their domain names. It’s unnecessary to use domains with exact-match keywords, but it’s preferable to make them close and relevant.

Types of domain names with examples

Many different domain extensions change how the entire URL looks. All of them have a role to play since they impact the overall impression of the domain name. Learning how to tell extensions apart and understand their positioning is essential. 

Top-level domains

Top-level domains (TLDs) are at the highest level of domain extensions in the hierarchy, always appearing at the end of the web address. Because of this, they are also called domain endings.

The IANA (Internet Assigned Numbers Authority) allocates and manages these domains, regulating their existence and selling the rights to specific domain registrars. 

Initially, ICANN introduced six top-level domains, but as the internet expanded, the demand for new unique domain names grew. Some of them are limited to specific organizations, such as .org which only government websites can use. 

Examples of Top-level domains (TLDs)

  • .com (commercial)
  • .net (network)
  • .mil (military)
  • .gov (government)
  • .edu (educational)
  • .org (organization)

Generic top-level domains

Generic top-level domains (gTLDs) are also top-level domains, but they represent a thematic sphere divided into sponsored and non-sponsored gTLDs.

A sponsor restricts sponsored gTLDs, as organizations administer and control these domains. 

On the other hand, ICANN and its partners manage and control non-sponsored addresses in a centralized fashion. At first, they provided these extensions only in specific situations because .net was reserved for internet providers only, but private individuals and companies can also use them today. 

Leave a Comment